Book Online

“Perfect place to stay right near transit hub”

Marisa, 9.2/10 Review Received 14th March 2018 from Booking.com

Excellent location by the railway station so if you’re arriving via Inter islander Ferry, a long distance bus or a train, you literally just have to cross the street. Everything you need (food, waterfront, supermarket) is accessible, and they have good amenities like a bar and a cafe, though I didn’t have time to use them. 24 checkout a bonus. Very clean facilities. Perfect place for those passing through Wellington. Expect street noise. Also, because many people are just staying one night, you may have a lot of coming and going late/early if staying in the dorms. But that’s normal for any hostel.

“One in which I would not hesitate to repeat.”

Margaret, 8.3/10 Review Received 6th March 2018 from Booking.com

Very little except that I couldn't find a kitchen to make my own breakfast. There was a 'restaurant ' where you could buy meals.
The welcome when arriving at 10.30pm. Clean bathroom and very good water pressure in the shower. Lockers to hire to store baggage charged on an hourly basis. Excellent location just across the road from the railway station and easy walking distance from downtown Wellington shopping area. A couple of doors down from a McDonalds takeaway, good for breakfast or late night snacks. I liked that I felt safe and accepted aged 65years in this facility.

"Superb"

Trevor, 9.2/10 Review Received 17th February 2018 from Booking.com

Front of the building room was a bit noisy, if back I would ask for the back.
Great location for a quick stop between the train and the ferry. Literally across the road from the train station, yet relatively quiet. Bathroom was modern and clean. Room was small but adequate, kettle and tea a nice bonus. Staff were lovely.

“AWESOME!”

Brenda, 8.3/10 Review Received 13th February 2018 from Booking.com

The location was perfect! Train station across the road, bus terminal also across the road, and all major stores within walking distance... great access to public transportation, and the wharf on the other side of the building. Affordable. Clean. Staff 24/7.

“Ultimate backpacker grand hotel”

Peter, 9.2/10 Review Received 3rd January 2018 from Booking.com

It was a bit old and run down
It's a unique place with the charm of a Wes Anderson film. It's run down, old, but everything works, is proper, staff are attentive and I would go back in a heartbeat.

"A Hotel well worth a thought"

Beverley, 5 Star Review Received 9th February 2018 from Trip Advisor

Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers is very central with everything from eating to Inter Island ferries and Mana Bus Stop at the door. Has Guest kitchen and a Restaurant. Subway & McDonalds are next door, Railway/Bus (local & Inter City) Station and Blue Bridge Inter Island ferry across the road. Inter Islander is a walk away. Te Papa, Parliament and ASB Stadium are walk distance, Cake Tin Sports Arena access through the rail station. Shopping also a short 4 min walk. Well worth considering.

"Cheap hostel with good facilities"

Baskcat, 4 Star Review Received 6th March 2018 from Trip Advisor

This hostel is basically what you can expect for a hostel. I got a 4-person room for a good price (although the bathroom was shared with another room in the small hall in between. The service was friendly and there were closets to leave your belongings somewhere else to save space, unfortunately they did not have lockers. The location is great, the nakedbus just stopped right in front of it. Honestly, for this price I was just fine with it.

"Great for a Weekend Trip"

Jamie, 4 Star Review Received 19th February 2018 from Trip Advisor

I went for a weekend trip to Wellington with friends - the six of us stayed together in a six-bed dorm for two nights. It had a good location and the staff were welcoming. The room and en suite were perfectly clean (bedding is provided, as is hand soap and body wash, but not towels). The communal bathroom down the hall was not as clean. We wanted to explore the city, so opted to eat and drink out, rather than use the bar and catering facilities so I will not comment on them. 1G of Wifi/day was provided for free, which was more than enough given that we were out and about exploring. Only slight problem, was that the room got quite warm at night and the street below was quite loud with the window open, but overall it was great for a good value weekend trip.

"Central location opposite the Railway Station"

PaulSiow, 4 Star Review Received 6th March 2018 from Trip Advisor

This is a very busy hostel and we had a twin room. It was not very clean and the common areas were not so well maintained. However our twin room was cheap and adequate enough for us. Location was excellent, just opposite the Wellington Railway station.

"Weekend stay"

Bridget, 5 Star Review Received 11th February 2018 from Expedia

Loved strolled around the waterfront, day and night - took in farmers market, city beach, snorkelling, bars overlooking the harbour Also visited Waikanae and Raumati - very easy with rail station practically next door
Great location - near railway station, city centre and waterfront Nice touches like plenty of plugs in rooms for chargers, individual bed lamps Lovely
card reader into room a bit temperamental, but people let each other in when that happened.

"Handy to railway station for us"

Monique, 4 Star Review Received 12th January 2018 from Expedia

Just stayed 1 night before taking the Northerner train trip to Auckland. Cool art deco feel and the room felt cozy. The only negative thing is that the floor needed a good vacuum. Would stay again

"Comfortable, affordable and convenient hotel"

Ester, 5 Star Review Received 26th December 2017 from Expedia

I found the Waterloo met all and more of my requirements. A good bed. Friendly and helpful staff and a happy and pleasant atmosphere.. It is conveniently situated in the center part of the town near the Beehive. I had a very pleasant stay there for three nights.

"Value comfort and position"

David, 5 Star Review Received 22nd November 2017 from Expedia

My wife and I walked straight across from the Blue bridge ferry to the hotel where we were welcomed. Check in was efficient. Having large bags, the lift was a bonus. My wife loved having a basin in our room and the shared bathroom posed no problem. The Waterloo is old but well serviced. It is right next door to Subways and McDonalds is a couple of minutes up the road. An excellent budget overnight stop.

“Fair price for faded grandeur”

Beth, 7.9/10 Reviewed 23rd May 2018 on Bookings.com

It has a kind of faded grandeur that I did like. It is very close to the station so very handy for buses etc. Staff were nice and very helpful. The canteen was reasonably priced and offered a good selection of good food. Good value for money.

"Extremely understanding and helpful management!"

Lily p, 5/5 Reviewed 2nd May 2018 on TripAdvisor.com

" I had Wellington as the starting point of the North Island itinerary. I was going to catch the ferry from Picton to Wellington and then a bus to Rotorua so Waterloo was a perfect choice, 1 minute away from the ferry terminal and half a minute from the Bus stop. I experienced the distinctive service at Waterloo a week before actually arriving in Wellington. I was injured in a bike accident in South Island and I didn’t know if I was going to be able to continue my trip as planned or not. So, I called 5 hotels/hostels that I had booked at that stage to let them know I might need to shift or cancel my booking due to the accident. I got the same answer from 4 of them: “you must contact the online agent (Expedia, Booking.com and Hostelworld) and ask for a modification, which is subject to availability and there will be a penalty to cancel or modify a prepaid or nun-refundable booking.”
When I called Hotel Waterloo, I spoke to the front office manager who enquired about the accident, wished me a speedy recovery, reassured me that my booking at Waterloo was going to be shifted or cancelled (if necessary) free of charge, and finally, asked if I needed an easy access bathroom during my stay at Waterloo. To me, this was a good example of great customer service and a hotel/management that actually cares about the customers.
While staying at Waterloo, I had a chance to speak to the front office manager, Cyrus, a true gentleman, who gave me a few tips on how and where to seek medical care while in New Zealand and he even helped me with the paperwork for my travel insurance. Reception staff were also very helpful in finding me some information and answering my questions.
I have travelled across the North Island and stayed at 5 different hotels/hostels over the past two weeks. None of them can be compared to Waterloo. I highly recommend staying at Hotel Waterloo and I can guarantee that the management and staff will look after you much better than what you could imagine.

"Pleasant"

Ahmad, 10/10 Reviewed 15th June 2018 on Bookings.com

It’s very comfortable. The Wifi was excellent. The kitchen and cafe are big. It’s close to the ferry and railway station. The staff were very nice. The ManaBus stops very close to the hotel.

"I stayed here 7 years ago"

Molly Woppy, 9.2/10 Reviewed 4th June 2018 on Bookings.com

It's had an upgrade which is lovely to see. Dorm had an ensuite with a modern bathroom. Cafe downstairs and games room/bar. New world supermarket across the rd in the train station. McDonald's next door. Beehive (parliament) a stones throw away (free tour). A bit of a walk from the city centre but not really a problem

"Just right"

X6844ZRscotts, 5/5 Reviewed 16th June 2018 on TripAdvisor.com

My Mother stayed at this hotel in order to watch the Rugby at the stadium. The location was good. Right opposite the railway station and close to the stadium and waterfront restaurants. The price was good infact very reasonable, considering it was a busy weekend. The restaurant and services were good, with a nice bar and good kiwi food on offer. Place was also very warm. I note that a major refurbishment is coming up, this will help alleviate some of the problems of age. I recommend staying here if you are looking for a bed at a good price

"Aging Graciously"

khuzaimi2015, 5/5 Reviewed 13th June 2018 on TripAdvisor.com

It’s a quaint but well-kept hotel. It’s very easy to find if you take a ManaBus from Auckland. It stopped right beside the hotel. If you take a train, it’s also easy to find as it is right across from it. The room is very clean and comfortable. The free Wifi is excellent. The staff were very nice. The kitchen is very big. CBD is within walking distance. The Wellington Museum, Cuba Street, Ta Papa and the Parliament are also not too far away. McDonalds and Subway restaurants are beside the hotel. "

"Great place to stay"

HKinsey, 5/5 Reviewed 19th June 2018 on Tripadvisor.com

Very convenient to the city and the waterfront Rooms comfortable. Great bar , great cafe. Good prices for the rooms and also for food and drink. This is my number 1 choice to stay at when I am in Wellington overnight.

"Taekwon Do Nationals weekend"

Tracy W, 5/5 Reviewed 17th July 2018 on TripAdvisor

Great location, very close to the railway station. Easy walking distance to the waterfront and downtown. Clean room and ensuite bathroom. Basic but tidy, really well heated, almost too warm but better than being cold. There are several different room options dorms for larger numbers and single, double or triple rooms with ensuite. Travel on a budget here.
Bar with pool tables good fun for an evening with team mates. I didn’t eat at the cafe but it provides continental or cooked breakfast, coffee and pub style meals at night.

"Convenient access to Picton ferry"

Iris E, 4/5 Reviewed 10th July 2018 on TripAdvisor

It’s an old hotel, where I had a private room (rm 413) & shared the bathroom with only 1 other room (rm 412). The room is pretty basic, enough to get a good night's rest. Café & bar restaurant is on the 1st floor, which is a like a huge dining hall. Great location though, next to the railway station & across from the Bluebridge ferry terminal to Picton. The Beehive / Parliament building is a block away. It’s a good place to stay for a night, with convenient access to the ferry.

"At The End Of The Day, It's A Hostel"

MarkStephenSouder, 3/5 Reviewed 10th July 2018 on TripAdvisor

At the end of the day, the Hotel Waterloo is a hostel. I chose it because it was right across the street from the train station, and I had an early train (The Northern Explorer) to Auckland in the morning. Restaurant and bar on the premises. Even the private rooms are spartan, including ones with en-suite facilities. I had to settle for buck beds (for one) when I had to change my reservation. Restaurant was OK for a quick dinner.

“Ideal accommodation PLUS, at an affordable price.”

Ross, 8.3/10 Reviewed 14th July 2018 on Bookings.com

This grand old hotel has an ideal location and great facilities! Staff were friendly, efficient & without fuss. Decor is a 'bit dated' but this is far outweighed by other features.
Overnight traffic noise is significant, so if you are a light sleeper best request a room away from the street.

“Quiet and comfy stay in a busy city, but facilities could be better”

Jumbles, 8.3/10 Reviewed 6ht May 2018 on Bookings.com

Shower settings were between unbearably hot or cold. Kitchen facilities were somewhat lacking in cutlery/crockery so just ate out .Comfy, quiet and spacious double bedroom in fairly central location (20 min walk to city centre) next to bathroom/kitchen facilities. Although no free parking there are plenty of car parks nearby, but be sure to get early bird and overnight to save on cost (there are hotels with free parking in Wellington, we were just unlucky as our original hotel got double booked).

"Superb"

Margaret, 9.2/10 Reviewed 21st August 2018 on Bookings.com

Positioned right near rail, taxis, buses, choice of takeaways. People friendly - not just reception, also other clients. Lovely and warm on a cold night when we stayed.

“Great place to stay in.”

Julian, 10/10 Reviewed 22nd August 2018 on Bookings.com

The room was colder at night than I would have preferred, but nothing the extra blanket couldn't cope with. The hotel is great, with its art deco features and central placement.
Has fantastic facilities, with really efficient, professional staff.

"One night in Wellington"

T8785ROkimm, 4/5 Reviewed 20th August 2018 on TripAdvisor

Great Hotel, central and easy to get around. Short walk to the waterfront and for the conference venue I was attending. Staff were friendly, helpful and open with advise and direction for local food establishments. Highly recommend as a central point in wellington.

"For location excellent"

kevinpm2010 , 4/5 Reviewed 9th August 2018 on Hotels.com

Great location service excellent. The only 2 buts are don't expect the balcony to have chairs to sit on. Its tiny and the fact its see through metal and seems to be held up by the wall and one metal support makes it a bit scary. The views however amazing. So worth the effort. The other but. Is the kitchen. Do not expect dishwasher ect. It is what it advertises. A mini kitchen. However we were there for 4 nights and had some great home cooked dinners. The steak you buy from wellington supermarket ( 5 min walk from hotel) was better than in melbourne.
Copyright © 2018 Prime Hotels Wellington / Prime Property Group | Sitemap | Admin Login